Celtic news: Ex-Fifa official issues ‘clear’ penalty verdict as Jota controversy analysed

Dundee should have been awarded a late spot-kick after Celtic star Jota handled inside the area during Sunday’s clash.

That is according to ex-Fifa and Premier League official Keith Hackett, speaking exclusively to Football Insider about the incident during the Hoops’ eventual 3-2 win at Parkhead.

As shown on the BBC’s Sportscene (20 February, 43.03), Jota appeared to head the ball against his own raised hand as he tried to clear an offensive set-piece from the visitors, who were looking to level the scores late on in proceedings.

The Dundee appeals were swiftly waved away by match official Gavin Duncan, who was taking charge of his eighth Scottish Premiership match of the season.

The incident came just days after Rangers boss Giovanni van Bronckhorst called for the implementation of the Video Assistant Referee system in Scotland’s top flight.

Hackett insisted he would have awarded a penalty against Jota had he been in charge of yesterday’s clash.

“That’s a clear handball, wow,” he told Football Insider‘s Connor Whitley after analysing the footage.

“I think he knows what he’s doing there. The ball has
come off his head and onto his arm. The referee has interpreted the law and
decided it’s not a penalty.

“I’m giving that if I’m the referee.”

The result meant Celtic moved three points clear of rivals Rangers atop the Scottish Premiership.

Dundee remain bottom of the table but will be buoyed by their spirited performance at Parkhead.

This article was originally posted here

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *